Available through the Library
Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use and manage the information.
Ebsco Ebook Collection
Search and view the full text of eBooks.
Ebsco Ebook Academic
This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
O'Reilly for Higher Education
The O’Reilly for Higher Education digital platform includes more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more. Users can search thousands of books simultaneously online, saving time and quickly finding the information they need.
"Home to one of the largest 'collections of collections' on the Internet, ibiblio.org is a conservancy of freely available information, including software, music, literature, art, history, science, politics, and cultural studies." This is an excellent place just to browse.
Free Ebook Library
The University of Virginia's Etext Center has made over 2,100 ebooks available to the public. These include classic British and American fiction, major authors, children's literature, American history, Shakespeare, African-American documents and much more. These ebooks are available for download to use with Microsoft Reader and Palm or to read online.
Google Books Search
Find full text and/or bibliographic information using the world's best known search engine to search though one of the largest collaborative digitization projects ever. To find "Full Text Books," select that option before doing a search.
Internet Library of Early Journals
Browse through at least 20 consecutive years of British journals: 18th-century Gentleman's Magazine, The Annual Register, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society; and three 19th-century journals: Notes and Queries, The Builder, and Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine.
A site designed to facilitate the sharing of audio books. It works like this; users select a chapter of a literary work that is out of copyright and in the public domain and record themselves reading it. Then the audio file is uploaded to the site and available for download.
The Online Medieval and Classical Library
"The Online Medieval and Classical Library (OMACL) is a collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization." The site is searchable or browsable by title, author, genre, and original language (all works translated save for those in Middle English).
Project Gutenberg is the oldest digital library. It is a volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works. Most of the books in the collection are the full text of books that are in the public domain. They have over 28,000 items in their collection and use open formats so that they can be used with almost any computer. Most releases are in English, but there are some non-English titles available.
Turning the Pages on the Web
The British Library has digitized important historical works, such as Lindisfarne Gospels, Da Vinci's notebook, Sherborne Missal among others. User can "turn the pages of rare books or manuscripts in a highly realistic way.