Business and Economic Resources

Databases

NYSEAcademic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database contains more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. (Available through Ebsco)

Business Source Complete
Comprehensive coverage offered by this database includes indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals going back to 1886. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,200 journals. (Available through Ebsco)

 

Factiva
Rely on an unrivaled selection of global news and data accessible via a powerful research platform, on mobile devices or integrated via advanced feeds and APIs.

Gallup Analytics
Gallup Analytics is an online platform that provides subscribers with access to nearly a century of U.S. data and a decade of global tracking data known as the Gallup World Poll.

Mergent
Mergent is a database of corporate information covering 22,000 US and foreign public companies. Data output can be customized and exported as comma-delimited files (readable by Excel and other software). Advanced search capabilities include searching by executive's name, auditor, country code, NAICS or SIC industry code, and selected financial characteristics and ratios.

Regional Business News
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. It incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and news wires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.  (Available through Ebsco)

OECD iLibrary
Full text (in PDF format) of all books, reports, periodicals, and statistical databases by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

E-ticker

Business Resources-Non-subscription

Business.com
Search engine focused on finding business resources.

Accounting Resources--Nonsubscription

AccountingNet
"The complete online resource for accounting professionals" has sections on news, research, products and community. It is a commercial site with certain areas limited to members, but signed, presumably unpublished articles are available for free.

Government Accountability Office (GAO)
This agency, formerly the General Accounting Office studies how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars. The GAO advises Congress and the heads of executive agencies about how to make the government both more responsible and more responsive.

Web CPA
This website covers the latest news and issues in the field, including articles from Accounting Today, Accounting Technology and Practical Accountant.

Business Administration Resources--Nonsubscription

Bplans.com: The Planning People
This one one of many commercial sites that make free items available as a courtesy. Sample business plans are available here.

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
This government website includes the full text of both Monthly Labor Review and Occupational Outlook Quarterly, as well as other useful information.

Economic Resources--Nonsubscription

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
Maintained by the governing body of the Federal Reserve, this site provides an excellent gateway for the Federal Reserve System as a whole. An excellent starting point for anyone interested in banking at the federal level and the economy as a whole.

History of Money from Ancient Times to the Present Day
Based on the book of the same title, this website has a chronology and a collection of essays on various themes regarding monetary history.  Of special interest is the detailed chronology of money in its social and political context from the very earliest times onwards.  The sources at this site are also useful in trying to determine how much a specified amount of money at a certain time would be worth today.

RFE: Resources for Economists on the Internet
This is part of the American Economic Association's website. Check out the links on Scholarly Communications (some full-text articles).

Business and Economics Resources--Government

Bureau of Economic Analysis
The Bureau of Economic Analysis collection information on national and international trade, accounts, industry, and economic indicators. BEA maintains a section of its website titled "The U.S. Economy at a Glance," which highlights their most influential economic indicators.

Economic Research Service (ERS)
The second principal statistcal agency operated under the USDA, ERS, like NASS, collects information on agriculture in the United States. However, ERS collects with an eye more toward the economics of agriculture and related fields. Food safety and prices, commodity markets, the rural economy, and agricultural income are covered among other topics.