This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,750 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFile Premiere also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, full text from 86,019 biographies, 105,787 full text primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 293,480 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily via Ebscohost (Available through Ebsco)
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database contains more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. (Available through Ebsco)
Humanities International Complete
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing, this database includes all data from Humanities International Index plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 730 journals. (Available through Ebsco)
This database is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text access and user friendly online access to over 380 high quality humanities and social science journals form over 60 scholarly publishers.
A multi-disciplinary database that has journals that reach further back than most of the databases.
American Film Scripts Online
Full text scripts of the major American films from the silent era on.
Country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, and shape note singing.
Classical Scores Library
Classical Scores Library is a series of three volumes and contains the most important classical music scores, manuscripts, and previously unpublished material, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 45,000 scores.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music is a comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.
Music and Performing Arts Online
Musical and Performing Arts Online delivers the largest catalog of music content in the world for students, scholars, and patrons of the arts. The multimedia resource features works from thousands of respected partners, covers hundreds of genres from alternative to zydeco and from alternative dance to operatic arias, and encompasses a wide range of content formats - including scores, reference, and high definition audio and video.
Naxos Music Library
A large collection of classical and world music from the Naxos and Marco Polo labels. Recordings plus descriptive information. Note: Please logout at the end of your session.
Opera in Video
Opera in Video contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world's best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic cannon.
Smithsonian Global Sound
World music from Smithsonian Folkways and other labels and from African and South Asian ethnomusical collections.
Theatre in Video
Streaming video of over 350 productions of plays from Aeschylus through Shakespeare and Beckett to Sam Shepard. Also documentaries about productions and interviews with authors, directors, and actors.
Visual Arts Resources--Nonsubscription
Art on the Web
Maintained by the Boston College of Fine Arts Department, the site is updated frequently. Many links and categories.
Over 2,000 scanned images of fine art, historical background on art and artists, theory and criticism, and rotating "gallery" exhibitions.
Over 700 leading arts sites indexed to create a searchable, thorough database of online images of visual arts and the locations of the original works worldwide.
A searchable dictionary of terms related to the visual arts.
Large commercial site, with many links to online galleries and exhibits, and artists and their portfolios. Also, an online auction, bookstore and print store.
The ImageBase is a searchable image and text database of over 82,000 objects from the collections of the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco.
Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods, currently containing over 8,000 reproductions. It currently contains over 15,000 reproductions. Bibliographies, commentaries, and guided tours are available. A search engine allows you to find pictures in the collection using various search criteria. An excellent site!
World Wide Art History Resources
Includes artists' biographies, links to galleries and digital representations of their work, and more.
E-Text Center's Shakespeare Collection
Provides access to the text of Shakespeare's plays and other works. From the University of Virginia.
McCoy's Guide to Theatre Performance Studies
Lengthy, annotated guide to theater and performance related Internet resources.
Large, informative site. Its link page, "Theatre Central," is comprehensive; it includes a directory of Theatre Professionals on the Internet (with bios, contact info, etc.) casting news, production listings and much more.
WWW Virtual Library Theater & Drama
Here you will find pointers to resources in more than 40 countries for professionals, amateurs, academics and students of all ages. Includes index to plays online. Collection of syllabi.
Provides comprehensive music information including reviews and biographies.
Search the database of over 1000 operatic arias by title, composer, or character name.
CPDL (Choral Public Domain Library
A free sheet music website specializing in choral music. The goal of CPDL is to host a large collection of music scores and sound files which can be freely downloaded and used. Most of the scores on CPDL are modern editions based on older works whose copyright has lapsed. Some scores are newly composed and offered for download by the composer.
Essentials of Music
Music theory and history basics, as well as a glossary of music terms.
A virtual library of public domain music scores based on the wiki principle. Users can exchange musical ideas through the sire, submit their own compositions, or listen to other people's compositions. IMSLP includes many historical editions of both instrumental and vocal works, as well as contemporary works by American and Northern European living composers.
Synopses and song lists for many popular musicals.
A guide to basic resources on musical theatre, television and film.
Offers free sheet music, lessons, and tools for musicians who play. Also includes biographies and videos.
A page that has a history of ballet, modern and contemporary dance as well as theory. It also includes individual blogs, galleries of dance videos & pictures, tools for choreography, and tools for teaching dance.
Find a large list of video examples of different dance genres, including contemporary dance and traditional/folk. Dancers and events as well.
International Dance Council (CID)
CID is the official umbrella organization for all forms of dance in all countries of the world. It is a non-governmental organization founded in 1973 within the UNESCO headquarters in Paris, where it is housed. It brings together the most important international, national and local organizations, as well as select individuals active in dance.