Social and Behavioral Science Resources

Databases

PsycINFO
From the American Psychological Association, this contains nearly 2.4 million citations and summaries of scholarly journals, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,200 periodicals in more than 27 languages.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. (Available through Ebsco)

Abstracts in Social Gerontology
AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers and has been a Top Ten Award Winner in the Department of Health and Human Services National Consumer Education Materials Contest. This content is updated monthly. (Available through Ebsco)

Child Development & Adolescent Studies
Child Development & Adolescent Studies, produced by NISC, is today’s source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed. More than 342,000 records are included with over 10,000 new records added each year. (Available through Ebsco)

Family Studies Abstract
Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 53,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline. (Available through Ebsco)

Legal Collection
This database contains full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. (Available through Ebsco)

National Criminal Justice Reference Service and Abstracts
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts provides users with information thoroughly covering the fields of law enforcement and criminal justice. The database contains summaries of more than 190,000 publications including books, government reports, research reports, and unpublished research. It also includes content from 189 journals, including 12 with core coverage. Content dates range from 1970 to the present. (Available through Ebsco)

Military and Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles. (Available through Ebsco)

Peace Research Studies
Peace Research Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 267,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline. (Available through Ebsco)

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Political Science Complete (PSC) provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. (Available through Ebsco)

Public Administration Abstracts
Public Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 93,600 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline. (Available through Ebsco)

Race Relations Abstracts
Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 49,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline. (Available through Ebsco)

Urban Studies Abstracts
Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 51,600 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline. (Available through Ebsco)

Violence & Abuse Abstracts
Violence & Abuse Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 21,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline. (Available through Ebsco)

Women's Studies International
Women’s Studies International, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented. (Available through Ebsco)

Project Muse
Provides online access to the full of over 250 scholarly journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

Factiva
In addition to business coverage, Factiva offers a wide range of newspapers and wire stories including the New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal. Company Research is also available. Factiva also indexes several journals in the field of criminology.

Gallup Analytics
Gallup Analytics is an online platform that provides subscribers with access to nearly a century of U.S. data and a decade of global tracking data known as the Gallup World Poll.

Historical Statistics in the United States
Quantitative historical data covering American population, work and welfare, economic structure, governance, and international relations from colonial times to the present.

Behavioral Science Resources--Nonsubscription

Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)
As the United States' principal source for criminal justice statistics, BJS collects and publishes statistics on all aspects of criminal justice at the state, federal, and tribal levels. Crimes by type (violent, property, identity theft, hate crimes, etc.) or victim, corrections populations and facilities, and court systems are covered as well as noncriminal aspects of the justice system, including law enforcement and personnel and behavioral statistics.

National Law Center on Homelessness and Poverty
The Center advocates to protect the rights of homeless people

Statical Abstract of the United States
Called the National Data Book, it contains statistics to defend or refute almost any point in an argument. It includes death row populations, social welfare expenditures, households and living arrangements and more. It is compiled by the U. S. Census Bureau.

SEARCH: The National Consortium for Justice Information and Statistics
A non-profit membership organization created for the States, which is dedicated to improving the criminal justice system and the quality of justice through better information and management, the effective application of the information and identification technology, and responsible law and policy. They provide access to a variety of crime and justice statistics.

The Sentencing Project
A non-profit organization that promotes decreased reliance on incarceration and increased use of more effective and human alternatives. It is a nationally known source of criminal justice policy analysis, data and program information. Its reports, publications, and staff are relied upon by the public, policymakers and the media.

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Includes data and other information.

Southern Poverty Law Center
The Southern Poverty Law Center was founded over 25 years ago for the purposes of winning equal rights for minorities and people through legal action.

Psychology Resources--Nonsubscription

APA Help Center
Your online resource for brochures, tips and articles on the psychological issues that affect your physical and emotional well-being, as well as information about referrals.

Psych Central
Includes lists of disorder symptoms and treatments, as well as a directory of online resources in the field.

Political Science Resources--Nonsubscription

The Oyez Project: U.S. Supreme Court Database
Allows users to search current and historical cases by title, citation, subject or date. Created by Northwestern University political science professor, Jerry Goldman, with funds from an NEH grant.

Political Resources on the Net
Political resources from every country in the world, including government sites, ministries, agencies, political parties, election information, plus links to country information. Extensive list of related websites. Browsable by country.

Richard Kimber's Political Science Resources
Maintained by Professor Kimber, formally at the University of Keele. This page emphasizes UK policies.

U.S. Government Resources--Nonsubscription

CIA--World Factbook
This is the online version of the World Factbook, which includes information on every country in the world. Some of the types of information given include geography, people, government and more. There is also an extensive map collection.

The Law Makers
The Legislative Effectiveness Project (LEP) is a joint research project that seeks to understand which members of the United States Congress are the most effective at lawmaking. We use a precise research methodology to calculate a Legislative Effectiveness Score for each member of the House of Representatives, where the average score in each two-year Congress is equal to 1. In the webpages that follow, you can learn how effective your Representative was during the 113th Congress (2013-2014), or see any other Representative between the 93rd and 113th Congresses (1973-2014)

Thomas
In the spirit of Thomas Jefferson, legislative information from the Library of Congress.

House of Representatives

Senate

The White House

Department of State

U.S. Census Bureau International Database (IDB)
"The International Database (IDB) is a computerized data bank containing tables of demographic and socioeconomic data for 227 countries and areas of the world." Data goes back to 1950.

Virginia General Assembly
Check on the status of legislative bills online and find out more information about the Commonwealth's government by going directly this the website for the General Assembly.

World Policy Institute
One of the goals of the Institute is to "promote greater public understanding of the relationship between domestic and international policy" and to train others "to be capable of understanding emerging world problems and of reconciling the often competing demands of globalization and national policy."