Nursing Resources

Databases

Vaccination

CINAHL with Full Text
CINAHL® with Full Text is rich collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981. (Available through Ebsco)

AltHealth Watch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. This database features indexing and abstracts going as far back as 1984, with full text going back as far as 1990.  (Available through Ebsco)

 Health Source-Consumer Edition
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. This database provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.  (Available through Ebsco)

Health Sources: Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.  (Available through Ebsco)

MedicLatina
A unique collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This Spanish language database contains full text for nearly 120 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.  (Available through Ebsco)

PsychINFO
From the American Psychological Association (APA) this database contains nearly 2.4 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in psychology and related fields, dating as far back as the 1800s. The majority of the material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,200 periodicals in more than 27 languages. (Available through Ebsco)

PsycARTICLES
Also from the American Psychological Association (APA), this is a definitive soruce of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 134,000 articles from 63 journals-50 published by the APA and its imprint, the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF)--as well as 13 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. (Available through Ebsco)

OVID/Lippincott Williams and Wilkins Journals
Lippincott Williams & Wilkins is a unit of Wolters Kluwer Health, a group of leading companies offering specialized publications and software for physicians, nurses, students and specialized clinicians. Products include drug guides, medical journals, medical textbooks and medical pda software.

Hand Washing NurseCSA: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
A database that searches its index of article citations and abstracts in the arts, humanities, natural science, social science, and technology disciplines.

Nursing Resources--Nonsubscription

All Nurses.com
Features an online newsletter, as well as information on nursing education, nursing organizations, and nursing boards. This site is searchable.

American Association for the History of Nursing (AAHN)
This professional organization is open to everyone interested in the history of nursing. It's purpose is to foster the importance of history in understanding the present and guiding the future of nursing. The site includes Feature Exhibits, Gravesite Series, Nursing History Calendar, AAHN Leadership, Historical Methodology, Resources for Nursing History and the AAHN Journal: Nursing History Review.

American Nurses Association Nursing World
This site has mostly organization-specific information; some links and current issues news. It also has listing of state organizational affiliates. It features the full text Online Journal of Issues in Nursing, credentialing information, fellowship programs, and more. This site is searchable.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
This searchable web site features information about the Center, health issues for travelers, general health information, current news, and links to other health-related sites.

MEDLINEplus
The National Library of Medicine's MEDLINEplus provides resources on common diseases and conditions, definitions of medical terms, directories for locating hospitals and more.

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
NCHS, run by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), hosts a large volume of information covering every aspect of health in the United States. MOre than just information about diseases is available: mortality and natality, exercise, marriage, injury, and access to health care are included.

National Library of Medicine Gateway
Includes a section with resources for health information.

PubMed
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's search service to access the 11 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases.

The Cochrane Library
This online library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. This database includes systematic reviews of health care interventions that are produced and disseminated by The Cochrane Collaboration. The Cochrane Library is published on quarterly basis and made available both on CD-ROM and the internet. It is the single best source of reliable evidence about the effects of health care. The review abstracts are available to browse and search free of charge on their website. The full text of all Cochrane databases are available to subscribers via our publisher Wiley.