Natural Science Resources

Databases

Test Tubes

SciFinder
In order for any campus member to use SciFinder they first need to set up an individual account and log-in. To do this please go to this log in page. Use your @uvawise.edu email address when setting up your account.

Web of Science
Web of Science (previously known as Web of Knowledge) is an online subscription-based scientific citation indexing service originally produced by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), now maintained by Clarivate Analytics, which provides a comprehensive citation search. It gives access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialized sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline.

STNEasy Chem Abstracts
Web access to Chemical Abstracts through a special discounted program for small colleges. Chemistry students must come to the library to receive password coded access to use this resource after 5:00 p.m. or on weekends.

Greenfile
This database offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.  (Available through Ebsco)

Academic Search Complete
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and a total of more than 10,000 publications. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.  (Available through Ebsco)

Environment Complete
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, urban planning and more. Environment Complete contains more than 1,772,000 records from more than 1,680 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s. The database also contains full text for more than 650 journals.  (Available through Ebsco)

American Chemical Society Publications
Searchable access to 3 million pages of original chemistry dating back to 1879.

Royal Society of Chemistry
Access nearly one million chemical science articles and chapters from the RSC journals, books, and databases.

BioOne
An Internet based collection of electronic journals in the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. Articles in BioOne are in full-text, and include all illustrations and links from the original printed articles. BioOne journals are published by scholarly societies, museums and other organizations, many of which are members of the American Institute for Biological Sciences.

Proquest SciTech Collection
A database that searches its index of article citations and abstracts in the arts, humanities, natural sciences, social sciences, and technology disciplines.

Highwire Press

Natural Science Resources--Nonsubscription

Public Library of Science
Includes many online scholarly journals, especially in the biological and medical fields

Science.gov
Access to all types of government information in the sciences. You can browse by topics or by subject, or search the website.

Energy Information Administration
Fossil fuels (petroleum, natural gas, coal), nuclear power, and renewable resources make up the energy production portfolio of the United States, and the EIA keeps track of them all from extraction to consumption at the state and national level, as well as international indicators.

 

Chemistry, Physics, and Astronomy Resources--Nonsubscription 

Pentaacrylat

Bad Astronomy by Phil Plait
A site run by a professional astronomer who provides a variety of services ranging from debunking various pseudoscience claims through the clarifications of popular misconceptions to discussing the scientific merit of concepts in motion pictures and T.V.

ChemWeb.com
One of the largest online chemical communities, it requires a free registration. There is a library with nearly 200 journals from leading science publishers covering all areas of chemistry. Table of contents and search are free, but there is a charge for viewing full-text. There are almost 40 databases available including structure searchable databases, abstracts, patents, dictionaries and material safety data sheets. Some databases charge to view full records but there are also free titles listed under Free Content.

NASA Astrophysics Data System Abstract Service
Searches four bibliographic databases in the following areas: astronomy and astrophysics, instrumentation, physics and geophysics, and ArXiv preprints of papers.

NIST Chemistry WebBook
The NIST Chemistry WebBook is a comprehensive source for chemical and physical property data for chemical compounds. Search for data on specific compounds including name, chemical formula, CAS registry number, molecular weight, chemical structure, or selected ion energetics and spectral properties.

Biology Resources--Nonsubscription

Plant CellBiosciences Virtual Library
The Virtual Library is the oldest catalog of the web. It is run by a group of volunteers who compile pages of key links for their area of expertise. Though it is not the biggest index of the web, the VL pages are widely recognized as being amongst the highest quality guides to particular sections of the web.

Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
A classic work originally published in 1918, it includes over 1,200 illustrations and 13,000 entries on the topic of human anatomy.

International Plant Names Index
This effort is a collaboration between the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, Harvard University Herbaria, and Australian National Herbarium. The aim of the database is to supply, for all known flowering plants, the scientific name and literature cite to the recorded discovery.

Kimball's Biology Pages
This is an online reference manual designed for introductory biology students. It contains alphabetized lists of biological terms with links to discussions, often illustrated, of a wide range of biological topics. Most of the terms are from cellular and molecular biology.

Mammal Species of the World
From the National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution the MSW contains the names of the 4,629 currently recognized species of mammals organized in a hierarchy that includes Order, Family, Subfamily, Genus and Species.

National Agriculture Library

National Center for Biotechnology Information
Established in 1988 as a national resource for molecular biology information, the NCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information.

Meteorology & Climatology Resources--Nonsubscription

Climate Debate Daily:  A new way to understand disputes about global warming
A fantastic, highly praised resource that gathers news, essays, and research supporting and challenging the views that global warming is caused by human activity, that global warming is a threat to humanity, and that earth's climate can be controlled by people.

Global Warming
"The debate heats up.  When the global warming debate first heated up in the late 1980s, scientists warned that the Earth our grandkids walked might be cooking like a fried egg on an El Paso sidewalk.  Graphs and resent interpretations of the threat of warming."

National Hurricane Center
This site provides the latest forecast information on tropical weather, reconnaissance data, satellite and radar imagery, hurricane preparedness, and information on the center.

United States Interactive Climate Pages
"This web site provides easy access to climatologies for cities thought the US and its possessions."  It can be searched by state and city for weather types such as precipitation or snowfall.  Time periods can be specified and information detailed or text format.

Geography Resources--Nonsubscription

National Geographic Society
The Society's official website. Provides daily information and access to national and global issues.

World Factbook (CIA)
Statistics and other information on many countries worldwide.

General Geology Resources--Nonsubscription

LavaAmerican Geological Institute
The Institute's official website includes links to publications, career information, and related policy and educational efforts.

Atlas of Rocks, Minerals, and Textures
Browse by mineral name or see examples of plutonic, volcanic, and metamorphic microtextures.

USGS: United States Geological Survey
Includes links to the publications and research of the USGS.

Virtual Courseware for Earth and Environmental Sciences
Covers topics such as earthquakes, global warming, virtual dating, and rivers, complete with examples and illustrations.

Regional Geology

Kentucky Geological Survey

Virginia Division of Mineral Resources