Military Science Resources

Databases

Trench ReadingAcademic Search Complete
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals. (Available through Ebsco)

Military and Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.  (Available through Ebsco)

Military Science Resources--Nonsubscription

Air University
Muir S. Fairchild Research Information Home Page of the Air University Library.  The Muir S. Fairchild Research Information Center (MSFRIC), founded in 1946, is the premier library in the Department of Defense (DOD). It houses well-balanced collections especially strong in the fields of war fighting, aeronautics, Air Force and DOD operations, military sciences, international relations, education, leadership, and management.

CDI:  Center for Defense Information
A non military site that provides expert analysis on various components of U.S. national security, international security and defense policy. CDI promotes wide-ranging discussion and debate on security issues such as nuclear weapons, space security, missile defense, small arms and military transformation.  Includes a Hot Spot/Hot Topic section as well as searchable articles.

DoD Facts and Figures
DoD Web Sites is a portal to the Department of Defense on the World Wide Web.  This page offers direct links to some of the most important and most popular DoD Websites.  Sites are arranged alphabetically, and can be browsed or searched.

Command and General Staff College:  Military Documents, Photographs, and Books
These electronic collections are largely composed of digital versions of paper documents form the Combined Arm Research Library collections.  The collection of digitized materials are uploaded to allow greater search and retrieval of the individual documents.

MilitaryInfo.com: American Military News
Up to date military news.  Includes areas on financial choices and saving money for life after the military, current news and events, an archive of articles, information on loans, and links to various service related institutions.

The National Archives
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. The site includes historical documents and mitilary records.

The United States Army Factfiles
Quick links to Army Factfiles.  Includes categories like individual and crew served weapons, indirect fire systems, tracked and wheeled vehicles.

The United States Army Homepage
The official webpage of the United States Army.

USA.gov: Government Made Easy
USA.gov is the official web portal for the United States Government.  It is designed to improve the public's interaction with the U.S. Government by quickly directing visitors to the services or information that they are seeking.  The portal links to every Federal agency and to State, local, and tribal governments.  Until January 2007, USA.gov was known as FirstGov.gov.

U.S. Department of Defense Official Website
This official website includes Department of Defense news, links, image galleries and employee resources.  One can easily access speeches and announcements from the Secretary of Defense and other top officials, see military news for different world regions, and much more.

Military Connections
This website is an online community where you can connect with friends from high school, college or military service days.  Military Connections provides veterans and active duty military personnel with current military news, mortgage and insurance resources, discounts and special offers.

Writing a Term Paper in Military History
Edwin Moise, history professor at Clemson University, wrote these guidelines for students writing research papers in Military History.