Library Media Resources

Databases

Library StacksAcademic Search Complete
"The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc." (Available through Ebsco)

Education Research Complete
"The definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing." (Available through Ebsco)

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
"LISTA indexes more than 500 core journals, more than 50 priority journals, and 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s." (Available through Ebsco)

Library Media Resources--Nonsubscription

ALSC Blog
This blog comes form the Association for Library Service to Children.

Adventures of Cyberbee
Created by a school librarian, this site provides resources for the school librarian including especially helpful resources for creating a school Web site, evaluating Web resources, and enhancing school curriculum with Internet sources.

American Association of School Librarians:  Best Websites for Teaching and Learning
The 'Top 25' Web sites foster the qualities of innovation, creativity, active participation, and collaboration. They are free, Web-based sites that are user friendly and encourage a community of learners to explore and discover.

Bibliography on Evaluating Internet Resources
Evaluating webpages for research

Story TimeCool Cat Teacher Blog
Teachers and librarians can read this blog to learn how to more effectively use technology and the Internet for education.

Dangerously Irrelevant
This blog is written by and Associate Professor in the Education Administration program at Iowa State.  Read it for news and tips regarding technology in the classroom.

 

The Information Literacy Land of Confusion
A blog by Librarian Michael Lorenzen in which he discusses information literacy, search engines, librarianship, library instruction, and user education.  He often posts useful tools for librarians.

Information Literacy Weblog
A blog created in order to spread news and information about information literacy works worldwide.

Library Grits
This school and teacher librarian shares tips for staying organized.

Library of Congress Blog
Read the Library of Congress Blog for news and information about new exhibits, library issues and trends, LOC culture, historical figures and much more.

Organizing the Web:  Resources for Librarians
This Internet Public Library pathfinder provides better ways of finding Internet resources.  It may involve cataloging Internet resources in traditional or non-traditional ways, improving subject access with controlled vocabulary, or using metadata elements to facilitate search and retrieval.  Both print and Internet resources are included.

Peter Scott's Library Blog
Here you can keep up with libraries and technology, plus book award finalists and more.

Resources for School Librarians
Resource lists for school librarians, also useful to teachers working to develop their student's information and media literacy skills and to find library web sites around the world.  "The site is maintained by Linda Bertland, retired school librarian, Philadelphia, PA."

Weblogg-ed
A blog about using the Internet for education.

Welcome to my Tweendom
This school librarian reviews great YA books, compiles tween book lists, and much more.

You Don't Look Like a Librarian
A blog that focuses on the public perception of librarians and links to articles and online resources about non-stereotypical librarians.