Language and Literature Resources

 Databases

MLA: Modern Language Association International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography indexes books, articles, and dissertations published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics, providing coverage from 1926 to the present. It includes the MLA Thesaurus and the MLA Directory of Periodicals,which lists detailed information on over 5,500 journals, includes over 4,400 indexed in the Bibliography.

Literature Resource Center
The LRC is your most current, comprehensive, and reliable online resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Its coverage includes all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world. Content includes Literature Criticism, Biographies, Topic and Work Overviews, Reviews, News, Primary Sources, and Literary Works, images, and links to audio interviews and news.

Oxford English Dictionary
The definitive record of the English language.

Academic Search Complete
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and a total of more than 10,000 publications. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals. (Available through Ebsco)

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. (Available through Ebsco)

As You Like ItHumanities International Complete
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from Humanities International Index plus unique full text content, much of which is not found on other databases. The database includes full text for more than 730 journals. (Available through Ebsco)

Woman's Studies International
Produced by NISC, it covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 586,600 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. This databases supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented. (Available through Ebsco)

Economia y Negocios
This database is the result of a collaborative effort between EBSCO publishing and ESAN. More than 70,000 records, dating back to the early 1980s, provide coverage for over 300 Spanish and Portuguese-language periodicals published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain and the United States. (Available through Ebsco)

Vente et Gestion
Full text coverage for French language business journals serving both the academic and the professional reader. This collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting & tax, administration, industry & manufacturing and others. (Available through Ebsco)

Fuente Academica
Provides full text, including PDF, for a rapidly growing collection of scholarly Spanish language journals. This multi-disciplinary database offers full text content for many academic areas from business to theology. (Available through Ebsco)

Project Muse
Provides online access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

 

English Langauge Resources--Nonsubscription

RolandAcronym Finder
With more than 590,000 human-edited definitions, this resource is the world's largest and most comprehensive dictionary of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms. Searching will give a list of acronyms in many languages.

Google Print
Search within the texts of books using this specialized Google Search Engine.

The Literary Encyclopedia
A source for descriptive profiles on thousands of English Language writers, works, and topics.  Profiles are reviewed by an editorial board.

Literary Kicks
Biographies of Beat Generation authors and poets like Jack Kerouac and Allan Ginsberg.  Bibliographies of their writings; articles; samples of their works.  This site includes articles on Beat Generation topics.

Luminarium:  Anthology of English Literature
Medieval, Renaissance, 17th Century and Restoration and 18th Century literary texts.  Entries for each author include:  works, bibliography, criticism, quotations and links.

Modern American Poetry
Modern American Poetry is a collaborative effort that aims to provide "a single clearinghouse for some of the best criticism on the best poems of our time."  One can find bibliographic information, bibliographies, criticism, commentary, and links to online copies of works on major modern American poets.

Modern Language Association
The website for this well-known association includes publication information and other professional resources.

Poetry Foundation
The publisher of Poetry magazine has developed a web site that exists to share the discovery and celebration of poetry.  The full text of Poetry from 1998 is available, as is a historical index that dates to its 1912 origin.  Use the Poetry Tool to search for information about poets or for poems by title, author, first line, or occasion.

The Victorian Web
"Literature, history and culture in the age of Victoria."  Includes information about authors from the Victorian era and background information about the society.  Has contextual links for authors which provide information on those authors' politics, religious beliefs, bibliographies, as well as symbolism and themes used in their literature.

Voice of the Shuttle: Web Page for Humanities Research
A huge, award-winning page, VoS is an excellent tool for research in the humanities.

Voices from the Gaps: Women Writers of Color
A WWW project that focuses on the lives and works of women writers of color in North America. The Voices is made possible through an ongoing collaborative effort between faculty and students in the Department of English and the Program in American Studies at the University of Minnesota.

WriteExpress Online Rhyming Dictionary
An online rhyming dictionary that matches beginning or end rhymes. A great help for poetry and songwriting

Foreign Language Resources--Nonsubscription

Alpha Dictionary.com
This site directs users to the best multilingual dictionaries. Some of the more unique items include an English/Finnish dictionary, a Chinese characters dictionary, and the English/Danish Dictionary of Electronics Terms

Beolingus
This site from Chemnitz University of Technology includes German-English, English-German and German-Spanish, Spanish-German translations services. The translation of a word also offers example sentences, synonyms, Wikipedia entries, proverbs, and quotations.

Jergas
This site has Spanish slang terms from different Spanish speaking countries. It is monolingual, but is up-to-date with detailed explanations of the terms.

Language Links
This site from the University of Wisconsin contains links from language types or regions to dozens of dictionaries and glossaries. Some of the more unique items include a Kanji dictionary and an English-Portuguese glossary of commerce.

Word Reference
This site concentrates on translations of English, French, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish as either the target language or the source language. A search will yield a word's pronunciation and definitions, as well as phrases and compound forms. It also gives "in context" examples from sites like Google News and Google Images.

The Perseus Digital Library
The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library focused on humanities resources. The site includes Greek and Roman materials. These include the searchable Liddle-Scott-Jones Greek Lexicon, Engish-Greek and English-Latin search tools, and the Lewis and Short Latin Dictionary.

UCLA Language Materials Project
This Web-based teaching guide has commonly, as well as less commonly taught, language resources. Examples include the Gaelic Dictionaries and the Afrikaans online dictionary.

Writer's Resources--Nonsubscription

Writers Helping Writers  This site includes free writing tools such as a character profile questionnaire, a list of overused words, and a free newsletter.

Writer Unboxed  Shares tips on the craft of writing. 

FreelanceWriting.com  This site includes job listings, how-to articles, writing news, and a video tutorial series about writing as a career.  

Make a Living Writing   The goal of this site is to help writers earn more from their work.  Marketing, networking and the business side of writing is included. 

Writing-World.com  The mission of this site is to equip writers for success. Articles, job opportunities, free resources for writers, and information about all aspects of publishing is included.

Daily Writing Tips  Includes an article a day on the craft of writing. Articles cover such topics as grammar, spelling, style, misused words, and expressions. 

Funds for Writers  Includes a newsletter with information about grants, contests, and publishers.  This site contains both fiction and non-fiction genre.