America: History and Life
This database is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to present, with indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present. (Available through Ebsco)
Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5,500 periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and a total of more than 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings and more. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887. (Available through Ebsco)
American History in Video
American History in Video--People who witness notable historic moments, either in real time or on film, remember how they felt at the time. Now you can experience these and tens of thousands of other historical moments in the same visceral way with American History in Video. The early newsreels, including the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel capture history as it was made and reported to viewers of the time. The collection also includes many award-winning documentaries, featuring dramatic reenactments and engaging analysis from prominent scholars and experts, that bring history alive for students and library patrons.
Humanities International Complete
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,000 journals and 2 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 730 journals. (Available through Ebsco)
Religion and Philosophy Collection
This collection provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. This collection offers nearly 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles. (Available through Ebsco)
Women's Studies International
Covers the core disciplines of Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 586,600 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. (Available through Ebsco)
Black History Resources Page
The U. S. National Archives and Records Administration's (NARA) Black History page features a comprehensive selection of links to online resources from NARA; other federal sites such as LC and the National Museum of African-American History; non-federal sites maintained by universities and other institutions: state, regional, and local research sites; and more.
Chronicling America: National Digital Newspaper Program
A free website produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). It provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper sources.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Quantitative historical data covering American population, work and welfare, economic structure, governance, and international relations from colonial times to the present.
History and Philosophy Web Pages
This is a massive multimedia site that contains an Online Speech Bank, Rhetorical Figures in Sound, and American Top 100 speeches. The Online Speech Bank contains almost 300 active links to more than 5,000 full text, audio, and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, and much more. You'll find significant political speeches as well as Hollywood speeches.
ADD: Access to Archival Databases
From the National Archives and Records Administration, AAD contains material from more than 30 archival series of electronic records. The series selected for ADD identify specific persons, geographic areas, organizations and dates.
American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
Multimedia collections of historical and digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures and text from the Library of Congress's Americana collections. May be browsed title/topic/format or searched.
The Census Bureau is known for collecting information about the population of the United States. It is probably most known for hte decennial census of population, but like the other principal statistical agencies, it produces a much wider variety of infomration than just its most known titles.
Links to primary historical documents from Western Europe.
Making of America
A searchable digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. It includes around 8,000 books and 50,000 journal articles, with imprints.
General History Resources--Nonsubscription
A support community managed by the National Archives for professionals and open government advocates.
EyeWitness to History
"Your ringside seat to history--from the Ancient World to the present. History through the eyes of those who lived it." This site focuses on excerpts from primary source material, articles, photos, audio recordings, and video clips about important people and events throughout history.
Social Welfare History Project Image Portal
The Social Welfare History Image Portal brings together photographs, pamphlets, artifacts and documents chronicling the history of the nation's response to human need. This history includes the work of volunteer organizations, reform movements, social workers, and government legislation and systems.
United States History Resource--Nonsubscription
A project from the Library of Congress that provides access to digitized material, in a variety of media, that serve to document the American experience. There are various collections as well as documentary projects.
America in the 1930s
"This site is an attempt to shed light on that decade and emphasize its importance in American thought and culture. We have elected to view the 1930s through the lenses of its films, radio programs, literature, journalism, museums, exhibitions, architecture, art and other forms of cultural expression."
Through this website, you can read or search through thousands of records from George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, and James Madison. Also includes transcriptions of thousands of documents that have not yet appeared in published volumes.
National Museum of American Jewish History
The National Museum of American Jewish History in Philadelphia offers a view of "American Jews in the social, cultural, economic and political life" of the United States. View descriptions and photographs of current and past exhibits or check out the site's "three side-by-side time lines of American history, American Jewish history, and World Jewish history."
An online collection of letters, newspaper articles, images, photographs, diaries, and more.
Working Women, 1870-1930
A digitized collection of manuscripts, books, pamphlets, photographs, and other print resources that focus on the American women who were part of the workforce from 1870 to 1930. Site is presented by Harvard's Library's Open Collections Program.
United States Regional Resources--Nonsubscription
Documenting the American South: Primary Resources for the Study of Southern History, Literature and Culture
A collection of primary resources about the culture, literature, and history of the American South that was created by and is primarily from the holdings of the University Libraries of the University of North Carolina--Chapel Hill.
A searchable guide to manuscript and archival collections in Virginia.
Born into Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers Project, 1936-1928
This project "contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in teh 1930s as part of the Federal Writer's Project of the WPA and assembled and microfilmed in 1941."
Slave Movement during the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries
Provides access to raw data and documentation on slave trade topics from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Also provides links to related Web sources.
Runaway slave advertisements published in the 18th century Virginia newspapers. Searchable.
European History Resources--Nonsubscription
Maps and descriptions of prehistoric sacred sites around Britain. Included are highlights like Avebury and Stonehenge as well as many lesser known sites.
The British Empire
Site devoted to the history of the British Empire. Categories to browse include time lines, art and culture, armed forces and bibliographies. Also offers a resources section that includes a glossary of terms and links to related information.
The British Monarchy
Official site for the British Royal Family. Serachable site includes information on the history of the monarchy and members of the current family as well as a gallery of the Royal Collection, castle fact sheets, and information about accession, coronation and succession.
Cybrary of the Holocaust
Remember victims of the Holocaust with historical perspectives, images and personal accounts. Find books by Holocaust survivors, and information about family and friends who were lost or found.
Asian History Resources--Nonsubscription
Internet East Asian History Sourcebook
A hugely comprehensive sourcebook providing full text primary source materials available online for researching the history of China, Japan and Korea from ancient to modern times.
Internet India History Sourcebook
Covering many aspects of Indian history from ancient India to modern times. Complete online full-text sources are organized by different areas. Also included are Pakistan, Bangladesh, Burma and Sri Lanka.
Prehistoric and Ancient History Websites
"An informative and well-illustrated guide to Ancient Greece, covering art and architecture, politics, Olympics, geography mythology, peoples, war, history, and other topics.
Realms of the Sacred: Early Written Records of Mesoamerica
This site, brought to you by the University of California-Irvine, contains pictures and descriptive explanations of codices from the major ancient Mesoamerican civilizations. Analysis focuses on texts from the Maya, Aztec, and Mixtec civilizations. There is also some treatment of the codices form the colonial area.
A Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names
"This is a concise guide to technical terms and personal names often encountered in the study of philosophy. Although its entries are extremely brief, many of them include links to electronic versions of philosophical texts and to more detailed discussions located elsewhere on this site or in other on-line resources."
History of Philosophy
A large collection of online essays and web resources. Essay topics include Camus, institutional suicide of Chinese Buddhism, and Ayn Rand. The encyclopedia of web resources covers the may areas of both Eastern and Western Philosophy.
Go to this comprehensive yet concise site for explanations and examples of common false arguments. Navigate by category and follow links between connected fallacies. Includes a translation of Latin terms for fallacies into English.
Includes a dictionary of philosophy terms, timeline, and philosopher's biographies. Focused on Western philosophy.
Stadford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Free and Searchable.
Statistics on religions and religious practitioners.
Biblical Studies on the Web
Includes a search engine that searches electronic articles within the field.
Internet Sacred Text Archive
In addition to religious texts, this website gives basic information about various religious traditions.
Virtual Religion Index
Lists websites on religion that are organized according to tradition, discipline and geography.