Education Resources

Education Databases

Teaching

Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator periodicals to assist professional educators.  (Available through Ebsco)

Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete topics include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,870 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,060 journals, and includes full text for more than 133 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers. (Available through Ebsco)

ERIC
This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.

Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database contains more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals.  (Available through Ebsco)

Education Resources--Nonsubscription

Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids
A guide to online government resources for students.

Miss MuffetChildren's Literature Web Guide
Includes lists of "best books" in a variety of catagories.

Curriki
Seeking new teaching strategies? If you’ve got an old lesson that you want to breathe new life into, Curriki can help. It is a free member website where educators share ideas and hear from others in the profession.  Tip: If you have a lesson that you love to teach with your students, share it with others. Everyone can be successful if we all help each other to be better teachers.

Education World
This site includes the usual lesson plans and curricula, as well as job ads, news, and a global directory of education resources.

Illuminations
For teaching mathematics.

International Children's Digital Library
A collection of digitized children's books for ages 3-13 in a variety of languages. Most of the texts offered are older.

Kathry Schrock's Guide to Everything
Renowned for its complete coverage, Schrock's website offers subject and topical access to education resources online.

National Center for Educational Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics collects information about all aspects of education in the United States from ability and acadmeic English writing and youth indicators. Stats are available at the distric, municipality, state and national level covering all ages from children to adult education.

NWREL's Library in the Sky
This comprehensive educational site has features for teachers (lesson plans, teaching and homework resources), students (games, virtual field trips) and parents (burping a baby, planning for college).

PBS Teacher Source
Resources that coordinate with PBS television programs.

Preschool Printables
Offers digital versions of certificates, calendars, and other educational documents for printing.

Primary Access
"Capture your students' imagination with movie narratives based on primary sources. Primary Access is an online tool that allows students and teachers to combine text, visual, and sound elements, which are then combined to convey information about their chosen historical event or time frame. A library of Primary Access movies is available through a catalog by historical time period. Tip: Encourage active learning: have students choose a historical event or time frame to research and synthesize their information through a Primary Access movie."

EducationRead - Write - Think
Provides educators and students access to the highest quality practices and resources in reading and language arts instruction.  Site includes lesson plans, web resources, student materials and professional development web links. 

Science NetLinks
Provides a wealth of resources for K-12 science educators. Site includes lesson plans, internet tools, interactive activities, and links to websites that support standards-based teaching and learning.

Smithsonian Education
Lesson plans in art and design, science and technology, history and culture, and language arts that go along with the Smithsonian's collections and research.

SOS for Information Literacy
"Learn how to effectively incorporate information literacy into your lesson plans. S.O.S. for Information Literacy is a dynamic, collaborative web-based multimedia resource for educators, K to 16. This site links lesson plans and teaching ideas for information literacy through a comprehensive quality control system to ensure that lessons are high caliber."

Teacher Tube
"What could be better?  You Tube--just for teachers and students!  Teacher Tube offers videos solely for the field of education.  Videos are created by teachers and students to be shared with other teachers and students.

TeachNet Lesson Plans
Offers lesson plans arranged by subject areas.

U. S. Department of Education
All you need to know about federal student loans, including eligibility requirements and much more.

Virginia Department of Education
Here you can find a directory of education officials and schools as well as information ont he much discussed Standards of Learning, including sample SOL questions.


Save