Cultural, Custom, and Lore Resources

Viking Festival

Databases

Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5,500 periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and a total of more than 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings and more. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.  (Available through Ebsco)

Religion and Philosophy Collection
This collection provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. This collection offers nearly 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles.  (Available through Ebsco)

Project Muse
Provides online access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Cultures and Customs Resources--Nonsubscription

AlfeniquesThe Costume Gallery
This is a comprehensive costume history website offering coverage of different eras and regions.   The site also includes information on historical patterns and obtaining materials to make costumes.

Costume History
This site offers information on clothing from Ancient Greece to the modern era.  The focus is primarily Europe and North America, with some information covering the ancient near east.

Encyclopaedia of the Orient
A reference tool allowing searches on anything in the Arabic World, "built on the idea that improved knowledge between the Muslim world and the countries of Europe and North America was extremely important for the people suffering from misunderstandings and artificial distance."

Encyclopedia Mythica
Encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, mysticism, etc. with hundreds of definitions of "gods and goddesses, supernatural beings and legendary creatures and monsters from all over the world." Mythologies covered include Chinese, Greek, Latvian, Norse, Persian, Roman and many more.  Both browsable and searchable.

Food History News
This site contains directories of historic food museums, classes, literature, and regional interest groups.  It also provides a limited number of historic recipes.

Interfaith Calendar
English calendar dates for holidays and holy days for several different world religions.  Includes current and future years.

T.A.P.--The Appalachian Project
The Appalachian Project (“TAP”) is committed to preserving the heritage and culture of the Central and Southern Appalachians.Shane Simmons and Jason Barton founded TAP in 2013 with the goal of preserving our Appalachian culture and heritage to help ensure it lives on to future generations. We hope that sharing our stories and travels will help illustrate an accurate depiction for those interested in life in the Appalachian Mountains. We have launched TAP as part of our mission to uncover the true spirit of the area we call home.

Fairy Tale and Lore Resources--Nonsubscription

Snow WhiteThe Best of Legends
A collection of resources--including commentary and criticism--available on the Web for various legends like Beowulf and Robin Hood.  This archive preserves The Best of Legends--links to primary source material, scholarship, essays and historical surveys.

Encyclopedia Mythica
Encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, mysticism, etc.  A great web source that includes dictionaries of gods and myths and creatures.  All areas of the world are covered.

Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts
A resource that provides links to mythology texts.  Arranged alphabetically, users can browse everything from popular fairy tales to Russian ghost stories.

Grimm Brother's Homepage
All about the Grimm brothers and their contributions to the world of folklore.  This web page has time lines, biographical information, lots of links and some of the stories in English and German.

Internet Sacred Text Archive
"A freely available archive of significant primary texts relating to religion and mythology.  Texts are presented in English translation, and, in some cases, in the original language."  Covers Ancient, Eastern, and Western religions.

Superstitions
This page lists and describes many common superstitions alphabetically by object/subject.  Contains separate sections for death and wedding superstitions.

SurLaLune Fairy Tale Pages
This is a site dedicated to the study of fairy tales and folklore, from Beauty and the Beast to Puss in Boots.  It includes annotated stories, the history of each story and cross cultural tales.

Proverbs and Sayings Resources--Nonsubscription

African Proverbs, Sayings and Stories
Featuring "Proverb of the Month" with archives.  Also included are e-books, maps of Africa, and a small collection of stories.

Kanga Writings
A website of Swahili sayings and proverbs that are written on kangas, a traditional African cloth.  The site includes the Swahili sayings, literal translations and common meanings.  Also includes information on the history of kangas.

The New Dictionary of Cultural Literacy-Proverbs
A definition and long list of popular American proverbs.

Proverb Resources
An extensive list, provided by UCLA, of resources including a large collection of proverbs from all over the world.  Also includes links to outside collections, articles, journals, and reference.