A database devoted to the publications of the IEEE society. It focuses largely on Computer Science and Software Engineering as disciplines. A good source for articles for research.
ACM Digital Library
A database provided by the Association for Computing Machinery. Through their Portal you can access the full text for every article published by the ACM.
Safari Books Online
Safari is one of the top e-reference sources for IT related and Business publications. In IT issues alone there are over 6000 full text monographs. Subjects include Certification, E-commerce, Hardware, Graphics, Computer/Human Interactions, Security, Operating Systems and much more.
Cambridge Scientific Publications
Content coverage includes the life sciences, environmental and aquatic sciences, computer sciences, materials science and engineering, aerospace, social sciences, and humanities.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Computer & Applied Sciences Complete (CASC) covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. It contains collected knowledge on traditional engineering challenges & research, and is a resource for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,800 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for more than 730 periodicals. (Available through Ebsco)
Gateway and Portal Resources--Nonsubscription
This site provides an extensive listing and gateway to computer science resources. The first collection of resources are gateways to the resources of the sub-disciplines of computer science, such as artificial intelligence, concurrent systems, formal methods, programming languages, software engineering, and theoretical computer science. Access is also furnished to academic departments; associations; bibliographies, preprints, and technical reports; dictionaries and encyclopedias; electronic books; employment sites; courses and tutorials; and software repositories.
Ethics in Computing
This site serves as a portal for resources on ethics from various associations. It also provides access to resources on commerce, computer abuse, privacy, risks, social justice issues, and speech issues.
AI Topics is a starting point for finding information on artificial intelligence. This American Association for Artificial Intelligence Web site links to basic information along with news, education resources, reference materials, courses, forums, and career information. In may be browsed using several directories, or searched with a built-in search engine.
Artificial Intelligence Resources on the Web
This starting point provides links to artificial intelligence conferences, journals, special interest groups, and university research groups, along with subject-based Internet resources on agents, artificial life, case-based reasoning, constraint programming, data mining, expert systems, fuzzy logic, genetic algorithms, knowledge engineering, knowledge representation, neural networks, and robotics.
Computational Geometry Pages
This starting point provides access to Web-based resources dealing with computational geometry including links to research groups, forums, bibliographies, job announcements, software and code, events and course materials. It also furnishes information about books and journals.
Cryptography A-Z is a metasite linking introductory information on cryptography, algorithms; protocols and standards; selected books, journals, conferences, and societies; and additional Web-based sources.
Object-Oriented (OO) Technologies
Compiled by the Data & Analysis Center for Software of the U.S. Department of Defense, this site serves as a gateway to Web sites containing information on object-oriented technologies. It contains links to information on analysis and design, courses, tutorials, languages, literature (publications), metrics, modeling, people, programs, organizations, service providers, specifications, standards, systems, tools, and databases.
This page lists commonly used cryptographic algorithms and methods and explains their basic concepts. Links are provided to implementations and text-books. The algorithms are divided into the following categories: public key cryptosystems, secret key cryptosytems, cryptographic hash functions, and random number generators.
The Stony Brook Algorithm Repository
Based on his book The Algorithm Design Manual, Steven S. Skiena has mounted this site containing a collection of algorithm implementations for over 70 of the most fundamental problems in combinational algorithms.
Career and Employment SitesResources--Nonsubscription
ACM Career Resource Page
The Association for Computing Machinery developed this Web site to help students and professionals make informed decisions about employment and careers. It contains a searchable job database that includes full-time positions, internships, and summer jobs; self-assessment tools; and discussion forums for advice from professionals and students.
AlanTuring.net: The Turing Archive for the History of Computing
Claiming to contain "the largest Web collection of digital facsimiles of original documents by Turing and other pioneers of computing," this site includes information about Turing and his work on code breaking and interest in AI, computational complexity, and connectionism. In addition, there are related reference articles, and a link to The Turing Digital Archive that contains unpublished personal papers and photographs.
Computer History Museum
The Computer History Museum is a real and virtual museum that preserves and presents important artifacts and documentation about computing. Its online collection includes photographs of the artifacts, documents, exhibits, the hall of fellows, a timeline of important events from 1945 to 1990, and a discussion forum.
Tutorials and Courses--Nonsubscription
Web Developers's Virtual Library: Tutorials
This Web page is a gateway to Web development tutorials from other sites. The tutorials range in difficulty from basic to advanced and are divided into the following areas: ASP, CSS, databases, design, DHTML, graphics, HTML, the Internet, multimedia, Perl, PHP, usability, VRLM, Web programming and scripting, and XML. There are several tutorials in each area.
World Lecture Hall Series
Hosted by the University of Texas at Austin, the World Lecture Hall provides links to college and university courses from around the world on numerous subjects. The computer science section lists over 100 computing and computer science courses. Course listings may be searched or browsed. Many of these courses contain syllabi, assignments, lecture notes, and audio and video materials.