Communication Resources

Databases

Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5,500 periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and a total of more than 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings and more. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.  (Available through Ebsco)

Communcations & Mass Media Complete
Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 460 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 660 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for 350 journals. (Available through Ebsco)

Factiva
In addition to corporate research, the Factiva database hosts many newspapers as well as the content from other various journals.

Newspaper Source Plus
This database includes 1,570 full-text newspapers, providing more than 27 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 583,100 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts.  A great resource for current events! (Available through Ebsco)

Regional and Business News
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. It incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and news wires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.  (Available through Ebsco)

Communications Resources--Nonsubscription

American Rhetoric
This is a massive multimedia site that contains an Online Speech Bank, Rhetorical Figures in Sound, and American Top 100 speeches. The Online Speech Bank contains almost 300 active links to more than 5,000 full text, audio, and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, and much more. You'll find significant political speeches as well as Hollywood speeches.

Power-Pointers
Offers tips and articles on how to create a winning presentation. The information is divided into four sections: the art of communicating effectively, building a presentation, communicating in your specialty, and planning a presentation.